The Best Albums of 1992

Well, 1992 is over. Boston ruled the college airwaves, you missed your last chance to visit Czechoslovakia, and you never need to hear Fleetwood Mac again. What lies ahead in 1993? No one can tell, though you might think about checking out a Nirvana show next chance you get. I wonder what kind of career I’ll have in the future? No matter! I’m sure that will all be sorted out by 2000 or so.

These are the compact discs that kept the L.A.S.E.R. in my compact disc player busy this year!

Sugar – Copper Blue
Uncle Tupelo – March 16-20, 1992
Neil Young – Harvest Moon
Lemonheads – It’s a Shame About Ray
The Jayhawks – Hollywood Town Hall
Bettie Serveert – Palomine
Yo La Tengo – May I Sing With Me
Drop Nineteens – Delaware
Sonic Youth – Dirty
Pavement – Slanted & Enchanted
Juliana Hatfield – Hey Babe
Beastie Boys – Check Your Head
Arrested Development – 2 Years, 5 Months, and 2 Days
Buffalo Tom – Let Me Come Over
Throwing Muses – Red Heaven

11 Comments on “The Best Albums of 1992”

  1. Dr Becca says:

    Copper Blue and It’s a Shame About Ray were my FAVORITEEEEE. I remember distinctly that Sassy had a back-page feature with Evan Dando in pajamas making an ice cream sundae or something and I ripped it out and kept it for many years after. He was dreamy.

    OK, I feel sufficiently old now.

  2. Dr Becca says:

    Oops. Close html bracket fail.

  3. rxnm says:

    I think he was the first “alterno-hunk”

  4. AmasianV says:

    Confession: I really liked R.E.M.’s Automatic for the People. Two of my favorite hip hop albums were also released in ’92: Pete Rock & CL Smooth’s “Mecca and the Soul Brother” and Gang Starr’s “Daily Operation.”

  5. Dr Becca says:

    Amasian, no need for a confession–I’m pretty sure that AftP is widely considered to be one of REM’s best albums.

  6. rxnm says:

    Please…no.

    But btw, the remastered “Fables” is on spotify and sounds awesome. I only ever had it on cassette, so it’s a revelation.

  7. Brilliant! 1992 was my first year in college radio. All classics but I’m particularly pleased to see JH, who I was totally in love with. Ugly makes my heart ache and her cover of Raisans almost made my head explode with joy.

  8. AmasianV says:

    Wow, I only recognize two songs on Fables.

  9. rxnm says:

    Mine too, Steve! I really do feel like the world’s oldest postdoc sometimes. And the college radio of our day doesn’t exist anymore. I’ve talked to a couple DJs on local college stations… all digital now. They’ve gotten rid of most of their vinyl collections. No carts! Though I have to say making promos in the cart studio, while a blast, would be a lot freakin easier today. But most DJs come in with a pre-loaded playlist. Meanwhile, I still have “dead air” dreams were I’m desperately trying to get something cued up…

    I guess it sounds curmudgeonly, but discovering things in a room full of 70s vinyl or waiting for new stuff in the mail sure is more fun than browsing spotify. I wonder what CMJ data would reveal about trends in what gets played in terms of breadth, idiosyncrasy, etc. I feel like some local shows are the Pitchfork “Best New Music” playlist on a loop. Others are fantastic, though, and really mine what’s out there in a way we never could.

    Speaking of JH (and spotify), I love this live cover from 1992: http://open.spotify.com/track/6p76YwZjd6Dei332vzVY1a

    AmasianV, keep at it! “Murmur” next.

  10. rxnm says:

    Actually, It was probably 1993 for me… I guess I’m not so old.

  11. AmasianV says:

    Oh, I own Murmur. Guess I just missed Fables.


Leave a Reply

